Engineering professors and executives win awards

University of Windsor engineering professor Hoda El Maraghy, PhD, P.Eng., the first female dean of engineering in Canada and the first Canadian woman to obtain a PhD in mechanical engineering, has been invested in the Order of Ontario. El Maraghy founded and is currently director of the University of Windsor’s Intelligent Manufacturing Systems Centre. Her research on flexible manufacturing has helped manufacturers around the world adapt and respond to market changes. This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Order of Ontario award, which recognizes individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field benefitting the people of Ontario or anywhere in the world. Appointments are made on the recommendation of an independent advisory council based on public nominations.

Engineers Canada recently announced the 2016 recipients of the Engineers Canada Awards. Marisa Sterling, P.Eng., assistant dean, inclusivity and diversity, Lassonde School of Engineering, York University, and former PEO enforcement manager, is being awarded the Meritorious Service Award for Community Service. Nancy Nelson, P.Eng., engineering professor, Conestoga College, will receive the Medal for Distinction in Engineering Education. The Engineers Canada Awards are presented in nine categories to honour outstanding Canadian engineers, teams of engineers, engineering projects, achievements and engineering students.

The Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC) recently announced the 2016 recipients of its senior awards and fellowships. Doug Hooton, PhD, P.Eng., professor, department of civil engineering, University of Toronto (U of T), received the Julian C. Smith Medal, which honours individuals’ achievements in the development of Canada. Marc Rosen, PhD, P.Eng., professor, department of automotive, mechanical and manufacturing engineering, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, received the John B. Stirling Medal, which recognizes individuals’ leadership and distinguished service at the national level within the institute and/or its member societies. These senior awards are the highest distinctions made by the institute. In addition, 11 PEO members were inducted as EIC fellows for their exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada. They are: Alidad Amirfazli, P.Eng., Reg Beddoes, P.Eng., Kamran Behdinan, P.Eng., Keith Brown, P.Eng., Simon Foo, P.Eng., Farrokh Janabi-Sharifi, P.Eng., Hugh Liu, P.Eng., Heather MacLean, PhD, P.Eng., John McPhee, P.Eng., and Khaled Sennah, P.Eng.

Two other U of T engineering professors have been awarded prizes by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC). The Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering, which is always awarded to more than one person, went to Shana Kelley and Edward Sargent, PhD, P.Eng., for their work on AuRA, a device that can reduce the time it takes to arrive at a medical diagnosis from days to less than 20 minutes. Combining Professor Kelley’s expertise in electrochemistry and biochemistry with Professor Sargent’s experience in electrical engineering and nanomaterials, the new technology has the potential to limit the spread of infectious diseases, particularly in the developing world. The E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship went to David Sinton, PhD, P.Eng., for his work in optofluidics, a field that involves manipulating light and nanoparticles to control the flow of fluids. Sinton has demonstrated its potential to create a new class of fuel cells, noted for their efficiency and energy density. His work also includes using light-harvesting bacteria as an environmentally friendly means of producing biofuel, and developing a technique to select better quality human sperm for use in fertility clinics.

Robert Bugden, P.Eng., was recently inducted into the Ontario Road Building Hall of Fame by the Ontario Road Builders’ Association (ORBA). Bugden began his career in 1970 as manager of engineering for McAsphalt Industries, overseeing the construction of asphalt terminals and production facilities. In 1976, he was hired by Miller Paving (now The Miller Group) to help transform the company from a traditional heavy highway contractor to a pavement preservation and recycling company. Bugden eventually became the chief operating officer until his retirement in 2012. Established in 2005 by ORBA, the Ontario Road Building Hall of Fame recognizes individuals for their dedication to, and leadership and achievement in, Ontario’s road building industry.

The 2016 Ontario Consulting Engineering Awards were recently handed out by Consulting Engineers of Ontario (CEO). CEO recognized 14 engineering firms whose projects contributed to improving Ontario’s social, economic and environmental well-being. The premier award, the Willis Chipman Award, went to CH2M Hill Canada and Hatch Mott MacDonald (HMM) for their work on Union Station in Toronto. CH2M Hill was recognized for its project management of the Union Pearson Express. HMM’s work of designing and constructing the Northwest PATH Pedestrian Tunnel was also recognized. The jury of five independent jurors selected five projects to win awards of excellence, categorized according to company size. Among firms with one to 25 employees, JADE Plus won for the Hazelton Lanes-Monorail and Gantry Track in Toronto. Among firms with 26 to 50 employees, Robinson Consultants won for the Hiawatha Park Road Culvert Replacement in Ottawa-Gatineau. Among firms with 51 to 100 employees, Associated Engineering won for the re-coating structural rehabilitation and electrical retrofit of West Main Street Bridge in Welland. Among firms with 100 to 350 employees, IBI Group won for the 2015 Pan Am/Parapan Am Games Transportation Delivery Plan. Among firms with more than 350 employees, Morrison Hershfield won for the Robinson Place Ontario Government Building in Peterborough. Awards of Merit were also given out to Blackwell Structural Engineers, Dillon Consulting, Hatch and R.V. Anderson Associates. The Ontario Consulting Engineering Awards were launched 13 years ago and have become the province’s most prestigious awards program for the consulting engineering community.

Calls for entries

Industrial design and engineering students, working alone or in teams of four, are invited to enter the 2016 James Dyson Award, an international student design award that challenges students to create a product or concept that solves a tangible problem, and has the potential to be commercially viable. The international prize is $45,000 for the student(s), and $9,000 for the student’s university department. Entries close on July 19, 2016. For more information, visit

Exporters are invited to self-apply for a 2016 Ontario Export Award. Non-exporters may also nominate an exporter customer, supplier or contact. Categories are: clean technology, consumer products and technology, food, beverage and agriculture, manufacturing and resources, services, transportation equipment. Awards of excellence are available for: exporter of the year, emerging exporter, global reach, leadership award, and business studies student award. Nomination deadline: June 30, 2016; application deadline: July 31, 2016. For information, visit