New ridings for the 2018 provincial election: What it means for PEO chapters

PEO’s Government Liaison Committee is hard at work preparing for this spring’s provincial election. This will be the first provincial election contested under the new riding boundaries, which have been adjusted to reflect population shifts. The number of electoral ridings will increase from 107 to 124 for the election on June 7.

In anticipation of this, the new ridings have been assigned to PEO chapters based on their geographical location. In cases where the riding overlaps the boundaries of more than one chapter, the riding has been assigned to the chapter where the largest percentage of the riding resides.

The new assignments have been sent to all chapter GLP chairs and have been posted on the Government Liaison Program page of PEO’s website at

Look for more information about the June 7 election in the next issue of Engineering Dimensions, where we will be profiling engineers who are running for the election. If you know of any professional engineers who will be running in the upcoming election, please let us know by emailing PEO Manager of Government Liaison Programs Jeannette Chau, P.Eng., at

Make sure to mark your calendars now and plan to visit your local polling station on Thursday, June 7. If you are not currently registered to vote, getting on the list is quick and easy at

The following are the electoral ridings assigned to each PEO chapter:


Algonquin Chapter:

  • Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke

Kingston Chapter:

  • Lanark-Frontenac-Kingston
  • Kingston and the Islands

Ottawa Chapter:

  • Carleton
  • Orléans
  • Kanata-Carleton
  • Nepean
  • Ottawa-Vanier
  • Ottawa Centre
  • Ottawa South
  • Ottawa West-Nepean

Peterborough Chapter:

  • Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock
  • Peterborough-Kawartha

Quinte Chapter:

  • Bay of Quinte
  • Northumberland-Peterborough South
  • Hastings-Lennox and Addington

Thousand Islands Chapter:

  • Leeds-Grenville-Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes

Upper Canada Chapter:

  • Glengarry-Prescott-Russell
  • Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry


East Toronto Chapter:

  • Don Valley East
  • Don Valley West 
  • Beaches-East York
  • Toronto-Centre
  • Toronto-Danforth
  • Spadina-Fort York

Lake Ontario Chapter:

  • Durham
  • Oshawa
  • Whitby
  • Pickering-Uxbridge
  • Ajax

Scarborough Chapter:

  • Scarborough-Agincourt
  • Scarborough North
  • Scarborough-Rouge Park
  • Scarborough Centre
  • Scarborough-Guildwood
  • Scarborough Southwest

Simcoe-Muskoka Chapter:

  • Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte
  • Barrie-Innisfil
  • Parry Sound-Muskoka
  • Simcoe-Grey
  • Simcoe North

Willowdale-Thornhill Chapter:

  • Thornhill
  • Willowdale
  • Don Valley North

York Chapter:

  • King-Vaughn
  • Markham-Thornhill
  • Markham-Stouffville
  • Markham-Unionville
  • Vaughan-Woodbridge
  • Newmarket-Aurora
  • York-Simcoe
  • Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill
  • Richmond Hill


Algoma Chapter:

  • Algoma-Manitoulin
  • Sault Ste. Marie

Lake-of-the-Woods Chapter:

  • Kenora-Rainy River

Lakehead Chapter:

  • Kiiwetinoong
  • Thunder Bay-Atikokan
  • Thunder Bay-Superior North

North Bay Chapter:

  • Nipissing

Porcupine-Kapuskasing Chapter:

  • Mushkegowuk-James Bay
  • Timmins

Sudbury Chapter:

  • Nickel Belt
  • Sudbury

Timiskaming Chapter:

  • Timiskaming-Cochrane


Brantford Chapter:

  • Brantford-Brant
  • Haldimand-Norfolk

Chatham-Kent Chapter:

  • Chatham-Kent-Leamington

Georgian Bay Chapter:

  • Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound
  • Huron-Bruce

Grand River Chapter:

  • Cambridge
  • Kitchener South-Hespeler
  • Waterloo
  • Wellington-Halton Hills
  • Guelph
  • Kitchener Centre
  • Kitchener-Conestoga

Hamilton Chapter:

  • Flamborough-Glanbrook
  • Hamilton Mountain
  • Hamilton East-Stoney Creek
  • Hamilton West-Ancaster-Dundas
  • Hamilton Centre
  • Burlington

Lambton Chapter:

  • Sarnia-Lambton
  • Lambton-Kent-Middlesex

London Chapter:

  • Elgin-Middlesex-London
  • London-Fanshawe
  • London North Centre
  • London West
  • Perth-Wellington
  • Oxford

Niagara Chapter:

  • Niagara West
  • Niagara Centre
  • Niagara Falls
  • St. Catharines

Windsor-Essex Chapter:

  • Essex
  • Windsor-Tecumseh
  • Windsor West


Brampton Chapter:

  • Brampton East
  • Brampton North
  • Brampton South
  • Brampton West
  • Dufferin-Caledon

Etobicoke Chapter:

  • Etobicoke Centre

Kingsway Chapter:

  • Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Mississauga Chapter:

  • Mississauga Centre
  • Mississauga-Erin Mills
  • Mississauga East-Cooksville
  • Mississauga Lakeshore
  • Mississauga-Streetsville
  • Mississauga-Malton

Oakville Chapter:

  • Milton
  • Oakville-North-Burlington
  • Oakville

Toronto Humber Chapter:

  • Humber River-Black Creek
  • Etobicoke North
  • York Centre

West Toronto Chapter:

  • University-Rosedale
  • Davenport
  • Eglinton-Lawrence
  • York South-Weston
  • Toronto-St. Paul’s
  • Parkdale-High Park

For questions, please contact Manager of Government Liaison Programs Jeannette Chau, P.Eng., at